Dennington, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Dennington, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Historical populations
Year Pop.
1801 726
1821 938
1841 979
1851 1,047
1871 -
1891 718
DENNINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 2¾ miles (N.) from Framlingham.[1] Also see[2]


Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Dennington and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for  available records.

Civil Registration

Dennington was in Hoxne district till 1907 at which time it was moved into Hartismere District. In 1907 Hoxne district was abolished. To search an index of Hoxne or Hartismere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.  While the district had been created in 1837 for the purpose of recording births, deaths , and marriages, the Hundred had been in existence for hundreds of years for administrative, military, and judicial purposes.

Church records

Dennington, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
Dennington, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1571-1830

NBI

1571-1900

The Parish Registers begin in 1570.  They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are considerable for Dennington.   See Suffolk Church Record for further details.
Dennington Church of England parish registers are online and cover the period from 1571 to 1900.

Census records

There are census records available for Dennington from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Dennington, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Statistical Data Gathered from the Census

There is statistical data available for every parish in the census years from 1801 to 1931 on the Histpop - the Online Historical Population Reports (OHPR) website. Refer to the Histpop - Online Historical Population Reports wiki article.

Abstract of the Answers and Returns made pursuant to an Act ... 1831 Census free google ebook
Dennington- 2840 acres or 4.5 Sq. miles
Employment
Houses
Agriculture
Trade
Other
Persons
113
141
36
25
1000

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Dennington was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District.  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
  • National gazetteers provide a brief description of each place

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 28-32. Adapted. Date accessed: 14 March 2014.
  2. William White, 1844, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk pages 454 - 456
  3. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  6. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 28-32. Date accessed: 16 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:45.
  • This page has been accessed 5,319 times.