Dent, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Dent

Guide to Dent, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dent, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincliff and Ewcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Sedbergh PLU
Registration District Sedbergh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1611; Separate registers exist for Cowgill beginning 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1674; Separate records exist for Cowgill beginning 1840
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clapham
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Lonsdale
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DENT, a parochial chapelry, in the parish and union of Sedbergh, W. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York, 5 miles (S. E. by S.) from Sedbergh, and 16 (E.) from Kendal; containing 1873 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, and Quakers. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Dent exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
DENT PARISH (1611) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1611-1848

1611-1912

1611-1825

JOIN None

None

None

AC 1772-1841

1772-1841

1772-1841


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Dent to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the DENT PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464273.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 28-32. Date accessed: 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,736 times.