Denton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Denton, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Denton, Lancashire
St Lawrence Church, Denton Th'Owd Peg.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ashton Under Lyne PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1700
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

DENTON, [St Lawrence]a chapelry, in the parish of Manchester, union of Ashton-under-Lyne, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 3¾ miles northeast by north of Stockport and about 5 miles from Manchester Town. The chapel originally was dedicated to St James, was erected about 1530 [chapel registers commence in 1696]. Th'Owd Peg as it is known locally due to the timber frame construction St Lawrence Denton was founded in 1468. Originally the timber-framed structure was neither a parish church nor dedicated to St. Lawrence. It began as a chapel of ease for the medieval manor of Denton within the Parish of Manchester, dedicated to St. James. It became a parish church under the name St. Lawrence in 1839. The Church was dedicated to St. Lawrence as a result of the discovery within the structure of fragments of glass depicting the martyrdom of St. Lawrence. These fragments are now incorporated into a window on the south side of the sanctuary.The Wesleyans and others have places of worship.[1]

Also another church district, comprising part of the township of Denton, and part of that of Haughton, and called Christ-Church, was formed in April, 1846.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Online transcriptions exist for Denton St Lawrence Chapelry and its other (two) chapelries that comprise this township--all of which stand within the ancient parish boundary of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys Cathedral. Haughton's two chapelries were contiguous to these chapelry and are included here (see below--St Ann and St Mary's).

To access these online transcriptions of baptisms, marriages and burials you can view them at the web sites indicated below; note the range of years:

FS =FamilySearch.org
LOPCLancashire Online Parish Clerk
FMP =  FMP = FindMyPast
LBMDLancashire BMD
AC = Ancestry.co.uk


DENTON ST LAWRENCE Chapelry (1695) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1696-1922 1698-1939 1696-1873
LOPC None None  None
LBMD 1837-1937 1854-1993 1837-1937
FMP None 1698-1754 None
DENTON ST GEORGE, DANEBANK Chapelry (1841) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1937 1854-1993 1837-1937
DENTON CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1826) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1826-1894 1854-1898 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1937 1854-1993  1837-1937 
HAUGHTON ST ANN Chapelry (1882) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1882-1909 1882-1916 None
LOPC None None None
HAUGHTON ST MARY THE VIRGIN Chapelry (1876) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of (over 150) chapelries and district churches comprising the ancient parish of Manchester (Cathedral), and to see a list of links to each one, visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.


Original Records

Original parish (chapelry) registers are housed at the Manchester Central Library archives.

FamilySearch has microfilmed the original registers of St Lawrence Dentonand they are available to be searched at any of its 4,600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide (see FamilySearch.org for address locations). Denton- St Lawrence
Baptisms-1696-1758- MFPR 2182
Baptisms-1758-1837- MFPR 107 or MFPR 2182
Baptisms-1837-1922- MFPR 1341
Baptisms Transcript-1696-1757- 929.3272 G1
Burials-1695-1756- MFPR 2182
Burials-1757-1757- MFPR 107
Burials-1758-1812- MFPR 107 or MFPR 2182
Burials-1813-1842- MFPR 107 or MFPR 2183
Burials-1842-1893- MFPR 1343 or MFPR 2183
Burials Transcript-1695-1756- 929.3272 G1
Marriages-1698-1700- MFPR 2182
Marriages-1700-1711- Archives L204
Marriages-1711-1723- MFPR 2182
Marriages-1723-1725- Archives L204
Marriages-1725-1754- MFPR 2182
Marriages-1854-1902- MFPR 1342
Marriages-1902-1939- MFPR 1342 or MFPR 2183
Marriages Transcript-1698-1754- 929.3272 G1

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Parish registers for St. Lawrence chapelry, Denton, 1758-1950  Microfilm of original records formerly held in the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, and the church of St. Lawrence, Denton, England.
Denton is a chapelry in the parish of Manchester. This chapelry is known as St. Lawrence. Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: L204.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1696-1724; marriages, 1698-1700, 1711-1723; burials, 1695-1725. Baptisms, 1724-1757; marriages, 1725-1754; burials, 1725-1756. Baptisms, burials, 1758-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1837.
FHL BRITISH Film
1408757 Items 3 - 8
Baptisms, 1837-1922. Marriages, 1854-November 1902.
FHL BRITISH Film
1408758
Marriages, November 1902-1939. Burials, 1813-1842, 1873-1893, 1842-1873
FHL BRITISH Film
1408953 Items 1 - 7
Baptisms, 1758-1837. Burials, 1758-1842. (another filming)
FHL BRITISH Film
559166
Baptisms, 1829-1886 (another filming).
FHL BRITISH Film
1550981
Baptisms, 1883-1910 (another filming). Burials, 1813-1842 (another filming). Burials, 1842-1950
FHL BRITISH Film
1551007
Marriages, 1854-1915 (another filming).
FHL BRITISH Film
1551008


Bishop's transcripts for St. Lawrence Chapelry, Denton, 1700-1855 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston. The chapelries of St. Lawrence and Christ Church are in the township of Denton, parish of Manchester.Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/208a-208b

Content
Film
St. Lawrence's Church: Baptisms 1700, 1723-1833; Marriages, 1723; Burials, 1700, 1723-1832.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545649 Items 2 - 4
St. Lawrence's Church: Baptisms, 1834-1848; burials, 1833-1848; Christ Church: baptisms and burials, 1848-1855.
FHL BRITISH Film
1545650 Item 1


Haughton St Anne's Chapelry registers are also on microfilm. See FHL film #2113090 from 1882-1916.

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for the parish:

http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/Denton/stlawrence/index.html baptism transcripts including surname index

http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/Denton/stlawrence/index.html burial transcripts including surname index

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438733.


Poor Law Unions

Ashton under Lyne, Lancashire, Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.stlawrencedenton.org.uk/ for information about the parish

http://www.manchester2002-uk.com/buildings/churches3.html for history and information about the church.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 28-32. Adapted. Date accessed: 29 June 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 4,107 times.