Denton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.pngWest Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngDenton

Guide to Denton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Denton, Yorkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Claro
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Carlton Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Otley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1766; For more records see Otley
Bishop's Transcripts: 1786
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DENTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Otley, Upper division of the wapentake of Claro, W. riding of York, 4 miles (N. W. by W.) from Otley.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Denton, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
DENTON CHAPELRY (1766) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1766-1812 1766-1812 1766-1812 1766-1812 1766-1812 1766-1812
FS 1786-1847

1775-1811

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Otley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the OTLEY PARISHpage.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464251.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 28-32. Date accessed: 12 November 2012.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,598 times.