Denton Christ Church, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Denton Christ Church, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Denton Christ Church, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ashton Under Lyne PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: 1848
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Denton (Christ Church) partly in Haughton was a chapelry created in 1846, laying within the boundaries of Ashton under Lyne. A church district, comprising part of the township of Denton, and part of that of Haughton, and called Christ-Church, was formed in April, 1846, under the act 6 and 7 Victoria. The Wesleyans and others have places of worship.[1]

Resources

Christ Church Denton,

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records


Online Records

Online transcriptions exist for Denton St George, Danebank Chapelry and its other(two) chapelries that comprise this township--all of which stand within the ancient parish boundary of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys Cathedral. To access these online transcriptions of baptisms, marriages and burials you can view them at the web sites indicated below at no cost; note the range of years:

Denton Christ Church, Lancashire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)][2]
Denton Christ Church, Lancashire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1848-1914 1848-1914 1854-1930 1854-1930 1853-1985 1853-1985

To view a full list of (over 150) chapelries and district churches comprising the ancient parish of Manchester (Cathedral), and to see a list of links to each one, visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE ST DENYS page. Original Records Original parish (chapelry) registers are housed at the Manchester Central Library archives.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438733.

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
== Maps and Gazetteers ==
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 28-32. Date Accessed 25 November 2013.
  2. 'Manchester, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1541-1812', Ancestry, accessed 25 August 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,833 times.