Deptford St Nicholas, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png KentGotoarrow.pngKent Parishes

Guide to Deptford St Nicholas, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Deptford St Nicholas, Kent
Deptford+Green St+Nicholas SE8.jpg
Deptford+Green St+Nicholas SE8
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Deptford Town
County Kent
Poor Law Union Greenwich PLU
Registration District Greenwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery D
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DEPTFORD, a town, in the union of Greenwich, partly in the E. division of the hundred of Brixton and of the county of Surrey, but principally in the hundred of Blackheath, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 4 miles (E.) from LondonIn 1730, the town was divided into the two parishes of St. Nicholas and St. Paul, the former of which, including the old town. [1]


DEPTFORD St Nicholas, was created a parish from ancient times, in the west division of Kent, 4 miles east from London.

In 1730, the town was divided into the two parishes of St Nicholas and St Paul parish were built. St Nicholas included the old town. The parish church was in operation by at least the year 1563. The church, was rebuilt in 1697.

There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyan Methodists, and Unitarians.[2]

The foundation stone of the Royal Naval school at Counter Hill, was laid June 1st, 1843. There are two almshouses belonging to the Corporation of the Trinity House, for decayed pilots and masters of ships, or their widows: one, which adjoins St. Nicholas' churchyard, and consists of 25 apartments; the other, in Church-street, was built about the close of the seventeenth century, and contains 56 apartments, forming a spacious quadrangle.[3]
The following chapels of ease and district church were attached to or associated with Deptford St Paul's:

  • St John Church - 1854
  • Christ Church mission - 1864
  • St Peter - 1867
  • Hatcham St James - 1845

Deptford is a district of South London partly in the London boroughs of Lewisham and Greenwich Deptford Wikipedia.

Deptford St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish; the modern parish is in the Diocese of Southwark and a map of the parish boundary is found at A church near you

The church of St Nicholas Deptford Green has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 1 (1797), pp. 340-371 at British History Online

See Deptford North West Kent Family History Society for Anglican churches in Deptford and map of parish boundaries as well as other places of worship in the area.Deptford St Nicholas

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deptford St Nicholas, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[4][5][6][7]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[9]
FREG = FreeREG - free[10]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[12]
LBUR = Boyd's London Burials (FindMyPast) - (£)[13]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[14]
DEPTFORD ST NICHOLAS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1812 1563-1812
AC 1813-1906 1813-1906 1754-1921 1754-1921 1813-1921 (gaps) 1813-1921 (gaps)
BIVRI 1592-1724
1571-1734

BOYD
1624

FREG 1813-1841
1754-1879

IGI 1564-1730, 1801-1847 1564-1730, 1801-1838
KOPC 1558-1730, 1801-1847
1564-1730, 1801-1838

LBUR

1563-1648
PRTS 1592-1724
1571-1734
1508-1730

Original records deposited at London Metropolitan Archives.

Deptford All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Deptford All Saints Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1909-1929 (gaps)
1872-1906

IGI 1872-1906

Land Tax

Images for Deptford St Nicholas are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832


Census records

The Family History Library microfilming for Deptford is collected under the title Census returns for Deptford St Paul. See Deptford St Paul, Kent Census records

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

Gotoarrow.png See Greenwich Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 32-46. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.
  2. Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 32-46. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 March 2012.
  3. Lewis. Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 32-46. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 March 2012.
  4. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Nicholas, Deptford in Greenwich Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Deptford St Nicholas in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Deptford St Nicholas in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Deptford St Nicholas in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  8. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  9. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  10. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  11. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  12. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.
  13. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  14. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 17:07.
  • This page has been accessed 4,245 times.