Deptford St Paul, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  go to  Kent go to  Kent Parishes

Guide to Deptford St Paul, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

DEPTFORD, a town, in the union of Greenwich, partly in the E. division of the hundred of Brixton and of the county of Surrey, but principally in the hundred of Blackheath, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 4 miles (E.) from LondonIn 1730, the town was divided into the two parishes of St. Nicholas and St. Paul the latter extends into the county of Surrey.[1]


DEPTFORD St Paul, was created a parish in 1730 and is situated 4 miles east of London.

St Paul's included only a part of the town and extended into and incorporated the chapelry of Hatcham in Surrey (county). 

There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyan Methodists, and Unitarians.[2] See also Deptford St Nicholas.

The following chapels of ease and district church were attached to or associated with Deptford St Paul's:

  • St John Church - 1854
  • Christ Church mission - 1864
  • St Peter - 1867
  • Hatcham St James - 1845

The foundation stone of the Royal Naval school at Counter Hill, was laid June 1st, 1843. There are two almshouses belonging to the Corporation of the Trinity House, for decayed pilots and masters of ships, or their widows: one, in Church-street, was built about the close of the seventeenth century, and contains 56 apartments, forming a spacious quadrangle. Deptford is a district of South London partly in the London boroughs of Lewisham and Greenwich Deptford Wikipedia.[3]<br>

The Ecclesiastical parish of Deptford St Paul was formed in 1730 from parts of Hatcham, Surrey and Deptford St Nicholas, Kent Ancient Parishes. It was partly in Kent and partly in Surrey see St Paul's Deptford Wikipedia and a Deptford history parish and church history
The modern parish is in the Diocese of Southwark; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you
The church of St Paul Deptford High Street has been designated as a grade A listed buildingBritish listed building
See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 1 (1797), pp. 340-371 at British History Online

See Deptford North West Kent Family History Society for Anglican and other places of worship in Deptford including parish boundary maps Deptford St Paul and New Cross North West Kent Family History Society

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Deptford St Paul, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7][8]
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
Deptford St Paul, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1730-1808 1730-1808 1730-1808 1730-1808 1730-1808 1730-1808
AC 1813-1906 1813-1906 1754-1921 1754-1921 1849-1850 1849-1850
FREG 1730-1930
1730-1754
1730-1788
IGI 1730-1875
1730-1882

KOPC 1730-1800, 1843-1875
1730-1882

PALL
1780-1837

Land Tax

Images for Deptford St Paul are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306880.

Poor Law Unions

Greenwich Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 32-46. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.
  2. Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 32-46. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 March 2012.
  3. Lewis. Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 32-46. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 March 2012.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). In Baptisms, described as Deptford St Paul in Lewisham Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). In Marriages, described as Deptford St Paul in Lewisham Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. Batches C006302-C006303, P006301, and M006301, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  9. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:08.
  • This page has been accessed 3,401 times.