Derrington, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Derrington, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Derrington, Staffordshire
Derrington St matthew Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stafford PLU
Registration District Stafford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stafford
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DERRINGTON, a chapelry in Seighford parish, Staffordshire; 1 mile W of Stafford. Post town, Stafford.[1]

Derrington is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1847 from Seighford, Staffordshire Ancient Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Derrington St Matthew was formed in 1847 from part of Seighford, Staffordshire parish

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1900-1927
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts None


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474623.

Poor Law Unions

Stafford Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,012 times.