Deschutes County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Deschutes County

Guide to Deschutes County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Deschutes County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Deschutes County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 13, 1916
County Seat Bend
Courthouse
Or-deschutes-ch.jpg
Address Deschutes County Courthouse
1340 N W Wall Street
Bend, Or 97701
Phone: 541-388-6549
Deschutes County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage, burial, divorce, land,
probate, military discharge records from 1853
and Naturalization records from 1916.[1]

Deschutes County Government

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Deschutes County Court House as of September/October 2007.

Deschutes County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

  • Record Loss:

Historical Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Deschutes County, Oregon
Usgs deschutes watershed.png

Named for Deschutes River. French name was Riviere des Chutes or Riviere aux Chutes, meaning River of the Falls. The waterfall it referred to was Celilo Falls near where the river exits into Columbia River.

Parent County

13 December 1916: Created from Crook County. [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Bend | La Pine | Redmond | Sisters

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Black Butte Ranch | Brothers | SunriverTerrebonne | Three Rivers

Defunct Post Offices

Alfalfa |

Neighboring Counties

Crook | Harney | Jefferson | Klamath | Lake | Lane | Linn

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Ordeschutes.jpg

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Deschutes County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Deshutes County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:50.
  • This page has been accessed 10,621 times.