Desha County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Desha County

Guide to Desha County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Desha County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Desha County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 12, 1838
County Seat Arkansas City
Courthouse
Desha County Arkansas Courthouse.jpg
Address Desha County Courthouse
Robert Moore Avenue
PO Box 188
Arkansas City, AR 71630
Phone: 870.877.2323

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1865 and probate records; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Desha County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1865 1914* 1840 1839 1852
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Desha County is Arkansas's 40th county, formed on December 12, 1838, and named for Captain Benjamin Desha who fought in the War of 1812.

Parent County

  • 1838--Desha County was created 12 December 1838 from Arkansas and Chicot Counties.

County seat: Arkansas City [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Arkansas City
Dumas
McGehee
Mitchellville
Reed
Tillar
Watson

Neighboring Counties

Arkansas  • Bolivar County, Mississippi  • Chicot  • Drew  • Lincoln  • Phillips

Desha CountyChicot CountyAshley CountyDrew CountyLincoln CountyJefferson CountyArkansas CountyPhillips CountyMonroe CountyCleveland CountyBradley CountyUnion CountyWashington CountyBolivar CountyARDesha.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Desha County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists


Desha County Cemetery Transcriptions (partial list)  -  Desha County ARGenWeb

Census

1840  Federal Census Index  -  USGenWeb Project Archives

1850 Federal Census Index  -  USGenWeb Project Archives

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also [[{{{1}}} County, Arkansas Genealogy#Towns and Townships|Towns and Townships]] to search the FamilySearch Catalog for records not listed at the county level.

Dumas Churches  -  churchangel.com

McGehee Churches  -  churchangel.com

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a particular location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Desha County Federal Land Records  -  USGenWeb Archives Project

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief [[{{{1}}} County, Arkansas Genealogy#History Timeline|Timeline History of the county]]. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also [[{{{1}}} County, Arkansas Genealogy#Towns and Townships|Towns and Townships]] to search the FamilySearch Catalog for records not listed at the county level.


Riverboat History -  Desha County ARGenWeb

Goodspeed's Historry  -  Desha County ARGenWeb

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • 1673-1686 - Explorers Hernando de Soto; Father Jacques Marquette; Louis Joliet; René-Robert Cavelier, Sieur de La Salle; and Henri de Tonti visited area Indian tribes.
  • 1838 December 12 - Created by legislative act , Desha County was detached from Arkansas and Chicot counties.
  • 1860-1865 - During the war, county records were moved by wagon to Richland Township and later to Clarksville, Texas. Some records were never recovered.
  • 1927 - Desha County’s greatest tragedy came in the spring of 1927, when a flood inundated 478,000 acres after levee breaks occurred on the Arkansas and Mississippi rivers. Many of the county’s 26,684 citizens were forced to flee to hill counties or to live on second floors, in tent cities, and in boxcars on the levee.
  • 1930-1931 - The Drought of 1930–31 and the Great Depression, with unemployment over thirty percent, added to economic woes.
  • 1940-2010 - The population of Desha County peaked in 1940 at just over 27,000. By 2010, it had dropped to 13,000.

Maps

Military

War of 1812

Military Land Grants War of 1812 (partial list)  -  USGenWeb Project Archives

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Desha County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Desha County, Arkansas:

- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), [5]
- 5th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate)
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Militia (Confederate) , Napoleon Cavalry
- 8th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate)
- Carlton's Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate)


Civil War Amnesty List  -  Desha County ARGenWeb

World War II

Rohwer Relocation Center  -  Desha County ARGenWeb

World War II Enlistees A-F  -  USGenWeb Project Archives

World War II enlistees G-L  -  USGenWeb Project Archives

World War II Enlistees M-R  -  USGenWeb Project Archives

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Desha County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Desha County Newspapers  -  Desha County ARGenWeb

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate2.JPG

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Desha County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Desha County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Desha County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Desha County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Desha County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  5. Calvin L. Collier, They'll do to Tie To: the story of the Third Regiment, Arkansas Infantry, C.S.A.,(Little Rock, Arkansas: Civil War Round Table Associates, 1959) p. 10. FHL book 976.7 M2c

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:22.
  • This page has been accessed 13,108 times.