Devonport St Mary, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Devonport St Mary, Devon)

EnglandGotoarrow.png DevonGotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Devonport St Mary, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Devonport St Mary, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Devonport Borough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Stoke Damerel Incorporation
Registration District Stoke Damerel
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plympton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office


Parish History

DEVONPORT, a celebrated naval arsenal, and a borough, in the parish of Stoke-Damerall, or Stoke, S. division of the hundred of Roborough, S. division of Devon, 1½ mile (W.) from Plymouth, and 218 (W. by S.) from London. There are two episcopal chapels; St. Aubyn's, and St. John's. Four church districts, named respectively;  St. James', St. Paul's, St. Mary's, and St. Stephen's, each were endowed in 1846 by the Ecclesiastical Commission. The livings are all in the gift of the Crown and the Bishop of Exeter, alternately. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, Moravians, Unitarians, and other sects.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Devonport St Mary, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
Devonport St Mary, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


Non-Conformist Churches

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Devonport, but the exact parish has not been identified:

  • Bible Christian Methodist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Moravian/United Brethren
  • Particular Baptist
  • Presbyterian
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Unitarian
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241334.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Devonport St Mary (see Stoke Damerel) on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 46-55. Date accessed: 26 October 2013.
  2. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' findmypast, accessed 8 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 July 2015, at 14:48.
  • This page has been accessed 3,560 times.