Devonport St Stephen, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Devnnport St Stephen, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Devonport St Stephen, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Stoke Damerel Incorporation PLU|
|Registration District||Stoke Damerel|
|Parish registers: 1848|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
DEVONPORT, a celebrated naval arsenal, and a borough, in the parish of Stoke-Damerall, or Stoke, S. division of the hundred of Roborough, S. division of Devon, 1½ mile (W.) from Plymouth, and 218 (W. by S.) from London. There are two episcopal chapels; St. Aubyn's, and St. John's. Four church districts, named respectively; St. James', St. Paul's, St. Mary's, and St. Stephen's, each were endowed in 1846 by the Ecclesiastical Commission. The livings are all in the gift of the Crown and the Bishop of Exeter, alternately. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, Moravians, Unitarians, and other sects.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Devonport St Stephen, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|Devonport St Stephen, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Devonport, but the exact parish has not been identified:
- Bible Christian Methodist
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Moravian/United Brethren
- Particular Baptist
- Roman Catholic
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Reform
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241334.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Davonport St Stephen (see Stoke Damerel) on GENUKI
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:46.
- This page has been accessed 3,170 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More