Dewey County, South DakotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Dewey County, South Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Dewey County, South Dakota | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of South Dakota | |||||||||
![]() Location of South Dakota in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | January 8, 1873 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Timber Lake | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Dewey County Courthouse
710 C Street; PO Box 117;
Timber Lake, SD 57656
Phone: 605.865.3661
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and land record from 1910,
death records from 1911, cemetery records from 1941 and military
records from 1919; Clerk Court has divorce and probate records
from 1911 and court records from 1910; County Auditor has school
census records 1911-1972[1]
History
Parent County
1873--Dewey County was created 8 January 1873 from unorganized territory.
County seat: Timber Lake [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Indian Reservation
A major portion of the Cheyenne River Indian Reservation is located in Dewey County. The remainder of the reservation is in Ziebach County.
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
1905, 1915, 1925 State Censuses --Unique information could include: Ethnic Background, Maiden Name, Church Affiliation & Military Service
1905 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1915 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1925 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1935 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
1945 state census with images can be viewed free at FamilySearch Record Search
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Dewey County, South Dakota, p.624
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 31 December 2012, at 20:37.
- This page has been accessed 1,417 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

