Dewsall, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Dewsall, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dewsall, Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wormelow
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hereford PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1582
Bishop's Transcripts: 1672
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Archenfield
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Hereford
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DEWSALL (St. Michael), a parish, in the Upper division of the hundred of Wormelow, union and county of Hereford, 5½ miles South of Hereford. [1]

Dewsall is a village and civil parish in Herefordshire.

Dewsall St Michael is an Ancient Parish which included the chapelry of Callow, Herefordshire within the parish boundary.

The modern parish of Dewsall with Callow is centred on Dewsall St Michael as the Parish church; a map of the church boundary is available at A church near you

The parish church of St Michael has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also Herefordshire Churches

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers AH48 and Bishop's transcripts 1660-1849

AH48/1 General register 1582-1813 (Marriages to 1753)

AH48/2 Transcript of General Register 1582-1813 (Marriages to 1753) (Indexed)
AH48/3 Marriages and banns 1754-1809

AH48/4 Marriages 1823-1837

Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Harold Street
Hereford
HR1 2QX

Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collectionDewsall

Census records

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through theFHC Portalpage which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hereford Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 46-55. Accessed and adapted 6 August, 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 17:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,269 times.