Diegueno IndiansEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png California Gotoarrow.png Indians of California Gotoarrow.png Diegueno Indians

Guide to Diegueno Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Diegueno ( or Kumeyaay) lived in California and Baja CA. in Mexico..jpg

Contents

Tribal Headquarters

History

Brief Timeline

Additional References

Frederick Webb Hodge, in his Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico, gave a more complete history of the Diegueno tribe, with estimations of the population of the tribe at various time periods. Additional details are given in John Swanton's The Indian Tribes of North America.

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Reservations

Bands on their Reservations

Barona Group of Capitan Grande Band -- Barona Reservation

Campo Band -- Campo Reservation

Capitan Grande Band -- Barona Reservation and Viejas Reservation

Cuyapaipe Community -- Cuyapaipe Reservation

Inaja Band -- Inaja and Cosmit Reservation

Jamul Indian Village --

La Posta Band -- La Posta Reservation

Manzanita Band -- Manzanita Reservation

Mesa Grande Band -- Mesa Grande Reservation

San Pasqual Band -- San Pasqual Reservation

Santa Ysabel Band -- Santa Ysabel Reservation

Sycuan Band -- Sycuan Reservation

Viejas (Baron Long) Group of Capitan Grande Band -- Viejas Reservation

Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 August 2015, at 14:18.
  • This page has been accessed 4,528 times.