Digger IndiansEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Arizona Gotoarrow.png California Gotoarrow.png Idaho Gotoarrow.png Nevada Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Utah Gotoarrow.png Indians of Arizona Gotoarrow.png Indians of California Gotoarrow.png Indians of Idaho Gotoarrow.png Indians of Nevada Gotoarrow.png Indians of Oregon Gotoarrow.png Indians of Utah Gotoarrow.png Digger Indians

Guide to Digger Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Digger Hesquiat-root-digger.jpg



Digger Indians is a somewhat derogatory general term applied to several tribes or groups of Native Americans who lived in the Great Basin area of the United States. It referred to those who dug roots for food and was often applied to various groups of the Paiute Indians who lived in eastern and central California, western and southern Nevada, eastern Oregon, southern Idaho, southern Utah, and northwestern Arizona[1][2]. The term has occasionally been applied to members or groups of other tribes who dug roots for subsistence.



The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.


  1. Info Please article online
  2. Wikipedia article about the Paiute Indians online


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 August 2015, at 14:22.
  • This page has been accessed 4,540 times.