Digitized Danish Records Online - ArkivalieronlineEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Denmark Gotoarrow.pngDigitized Danish Records Online

Contents

About the Website

In the fall of 2002, the Danish State Archives with the support of the Ministry of Culture, began to digitize the Danish Lutheran State Church Parish Records and the National Censuses. Today, a variety of other records can be found on the website including probate records, civil marriages, fire insurance, and court records.The images have been scanned from microfilm, microfiche, and original sources. The digital images are available for free through Arkivalieronline on the internet at: [http://www.sa.dk/ao/].

Announcements

1 July 2013: A Beta version of the new image viewer is now available for testing. You can find the new viewer on certain years of the national census. The new viewer bypasses the use of Java.



Accessing the Digitized Church Records

Some of the first records to be digitized on the website are the Lutheran church records. Each parish has records digitzed from the earliest records up to the 20th century (dates vary depending on the parish).

Upload the following PDF for an English guide of how to access the church records on the website:

Arkivalieronline Church Records Guide

File:Arkivalieronline Digitized Church Records guide.pdf


Accessing the Digitized Census Records

Along with the church records, the National Census records were also some of the first Danish records to be digitized. The following census years are available through Arkivalieronline:

1787 1801 1834 1840 1845 1850 1855 1860 1870
1880 1890 1901 1906 1911 1916 1921 1925 1930

Upload the following PDF for an English guide of how to access the census records on the website:

Arkivalieronline Census Records Guide
File:Arkivalieronline Digitized Census Records guide.pdf

Accessing the Digitized Probate Records

Another great digitized record type on the website are probate records. As of right now (Jul 2013), only probate records for the islands of Sjælland and Bornholm are available, along with the city of Copenhagen.

Upload the following PDF for an English guide of how to access the probate records on the website:

Arkivalieronline Probate Records Guide

File:Arkivalieronline Digitized Probate Records guide.pdf


Accessing the Digitized Civil Records

On Arkivalieronline, the civil marriages of Copenhagen are available. They cover the years 1923-1961. There are two sections of the marriage records - the register to the marriages (Register til ægteskabsbog) and the actual marriage records (Ægteskabsbog).

Upload the following PDF for an English guide of how to access the civil records on the website: Arkivalieronline Civil Records Guide
File:Arkivalieronline Digitized Civil Records guide.pdf

Accessing the Digitized Fire Insurance Records

Fire insurance records are a special record type that can be very useful when researching ancestors in the larger cities of Denmark. The fire insurance records are available from 1731 to 1872. Depending on the city, there are some areas that have records up to the 1920s.

Upload the following PDF for an English guide of how to access the fire insurance records on the website: Arkivalieronline Fire Insurance Records Guide
File:Arkivalieronline Accessing Digitized Fire Insurance Records guide.pdf

Accessing the Digitized Court Records


To access the Copenhagen court records, follow these 7 simple steps:

Tips

  1. You can save and print the digital images simply by first pushing the 'Save Image' button in the top lefthand corner of the screen, then opening the image in your image viewer (Microsoft Image viewer, IfranView, etc.), and finally pushing print. It is adviseable to save the images as '.tif' files.
  2. High speed internet is recommended for optimum performance.
  3. You may run into problems with the viewer depending on your operating system.
  4. They do not enhance the digital images from the microfilm. If the microfilming was poor, it carries over to the digital image.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:18.
  • This page has been accessed 29,709 times.