Dinder, Somerset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Dinder, Somerset)

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Dinder, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dinder, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wells-Forum
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wells
Registration District Wells
Records begin
Parish registers: 1578
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cary
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office


Parish History

DINDER (St. Michael), a parish in Wells district, Somerset; on the river Brue, and the East Somerset railway, 2 miles SE of Wells. Post town, Wells.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dinder, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
DINDER PARISH Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1598-1640, 1695-1901
1598-1640, 1695-1912
1598-1640, 1695-1913
FS 1598-1640

1598-1753, 1756-1836



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474605.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites



  1. John M. Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 18 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 14:12.
  • This page has been accessed 3,348 times.