Dingley, NorthamptonshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.png  Northamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Dingley, Northamptonshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dingley, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Corby
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Market Harborough PLU
Registration District Market Harborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1583
Bishop's Transcripts: 1701
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weldon
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DINGLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Market-Harborough, hundred of Corby, N. division of the county of Northampton, 2½ miles (E. by N.) from Harborough, on the road to Oundle. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dingley, Northamptonshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
DINGLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1580-1812

PALL
1790-1811

PRTS
1580-1811

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438874.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 55-58.Date Accessed 10 December 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 July 2014, at 14:40.
  • This page has been accessed 976 times.