Dinmore, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png HerefordshireGotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Dinmore, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dinmore, Herefordshire
Dinmore+Manor+Church Herefordshire.JPG
Dinmore+Manor+Church Herefordshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grimsworth
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hereford PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DINMORE, an extra-parochial liberty, in the hundred of Grimsworth, county of Hereford, 8 miles (N. by W.) from Hereford.[1]

Dinmore is a village and civil parish in Herefordshire. The ancient Knights Templar manorial lands include a 1200 year old Yew Tree. The history of Dinmore Manor is available at Dinmore Manor Wikipedia

The manor is no longer open to the public. Dimore Manor House and several grouped buildings have been designated. The Manor House has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The Chapel of St John of Jerusalem which dates from the 12th century was restored in 1886 by H F St John. The chapel has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building It includes painted windows by Rev. Harris Fleming St John MA, chaplain (1878–1903) at the time of the restoration of the chapel.

Dinmore is an extra parochial place within the county and Diocese of Herefordshire and neigbours Hope under Dinmore, Herefordshire to the north, Canon Pyon, Herefordshire to the west and Wisteston, Herefordshire and Wellington, Herefordshire

1868 Gazetteer transcription by Colin Hinson

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Dinmore is an extra parochial place and it is necessary to search local parishes described in the parish history to locate events. Experience suggests that only residents of Dinmore Manor which had a chaplain and Upper Dinmore farm and resident workers constituted the population of the rural area. See partial 1905 Kelly's transcription Kelly's Directory 1913 transcription

Census records

Census returns for Dinmore 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through theFHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hereford Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 55-58. Accessed and adapted 6 August, 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 17:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,674 times.