Dinnington, Northumberland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Dinnington, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Dinnington Saint Matthew Northumberland
|Poor Law Union||Castle Ward PLU|
|Registration District||Castle Ward|
|Parish registers: 1835|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1835|
|Rural Deanery||Newcastle upon Tyne|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
DINNINGTON, a parish, in the union and W. division of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland, 6½ miles (N. by W.) from Newcastle.
St Matthew Dinnington was created as a parish in 1818 from the ancient parish of Ponteland, Northumberland. It includes Brenkley, Dinnington, Horton Grange, Mason, Prestwick, and Woolsington.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/77 1835-1856 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
Dinnington, St Matthew: Records of baptisms 1835-1952, marriages 1838-1966 and burials 1836-1940 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Dinnington (microfiche TN82) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438885.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 18 May 2015, at 15:13.
- This page has been accessed 1,716 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News