Dinsdale, DurhamEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Dinsdale, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dinsdale, Durham
St John the Baptist Low Dinsdale Durham.jpg
St John the Baptist Low Dinsdale Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Darlington PLU
Registration District Darlington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1556
Bishop's Transcripts: 1769
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History 

DINSDALE, LOW (St. John), a parish, in the union of Darlington, S. W. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 5 miles (S. E. by E.) from Darlington. [1]

Additional information: Dinsdale is an ancient parish and the church dedicated to St. John the Baptist is along the banks of the Tees and built in 1196.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dinsdale, Durham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
DINSDALE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Parish Registers for the period 1556-1987 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Di).

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/78 1769-1857 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.  

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241357.

Poor Law Unions

Darlington Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 55-58. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 May 2014, at 19:53.
  • This page has been accessed 815 times.