Disley, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Disley

Guide to  Disley, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary's Church Disley.jpg

Contents

Parish History

Disley St Mary was created from a former chapelry of Stockport St Mary, Cheshire Ancient Parish. Disley became a parish in 1558.

The original church was built between 1527 and 1558 and was intended to be as a chantry chapel for the fifth Sir Piers Legh of Lyme but he died before it was completed.

The present building was rebuilt between 1824 and 1835 retaining only the tower and nave ceiling from the older church.

DISTLEY, is a chapelry, in the parish of Stockport, the union of Hayfield, hundred of Macclesfield, and N. division of the county of Chester, it is 6¾ miles (S. E.) from Stockport.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241242.

Church records

Disley St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[4]
Disley St Mary Parish (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1651-1675, 1701-1750

FS PR's 1711-1911
  NONE
1715-1715
  NONE
1704-1715
  NONE
FS BT'S 1604-1857   NONE
1619-1724
  NONE
1604-1957
  NONE
JOIN
1592-1738

TGEN
1592-1756

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for St. Mary's Church, Disley, 1591-1958 Filmed by the Manchester Public Library, 1974 Original held at Manchester Central Library.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1591-1812; Marriages, 1591-1732. BRITISH
950398
Burials, 1813-1958; Parish record, certificate, 1846-1859. BRITISH
950399
Baptisms, 1813-1962 BRITISH
950400
Marriages, 1838-1964. BRITISH
950401

Bishop's transcripts for Disley, 1604-1857 Disley is in the parish of Stockport. Cheshire Record Office number: EDB 77.

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1604, 1619, 1621-1622, 1663-1674, 1676-1685, 1689-1692, 1694-1702, 1710, 1713-1735. Baptisms, burials, 1736-1802, 1804-1834, 1836-1837. Baptisms, 1840-1844. Burials, 1835. BRITISH
1655666 Item 2
Baptisms, burials, 1835, 1838-1857. BRITISH
1655667 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Disley, Baptist Union Chapel, Buxton Road. Built in 1893.
  • Disley, Methodist Chapel, Burton Road (Wesleyan). Founded 1805, rebuilt in 1906. Registers of baptisms 1875–1907 and 1927–1932 are at Manchester Central Library.
  • Furness Vale, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). ReBuilt in 1884.

Non-Conformist Records:

Church registers of St. George's Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel (New Mills, Derbyshire), 1840-1972 original at the Derbyshire Record Office at Matlock, Derbyshire, England.

New Mills is a village and chapelry in Glossop parish, near the border with Cheshire. This Methodist Chapel also served Disley, a neighbouring village and chapelry in Stockport (Cheshire), Parish. Derbyshire Record Office call number: D 4309/1/1-3, D 3567/1/1-6.

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1840-1937; burials, 1839-1972. BRITISH 2081108 Items 1 - 9

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Hayfield (1837–1937)
  • North East Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Macclesfield (1974–98)
  • Cheshire East (post1998)

Poor Law Unions

Hayfield Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 58-60. Date Accessed: 19 February 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.

Use these indexes and transcriptions of records for Disley.

Bibliography

  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 143–145 
  •  Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 198, ISBN 0 300 09588 0 
  •  Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, pp. 128–129, ISBN 0 907768 18 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 April 2014, at 15:46.
  • This page has been accessed 3,458 times.