Diss, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Diss St Mary, Norfolk)

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Diss, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Diss, Norfolk
Diss St Nicholas.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Diss
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Depwade PLU
Registration District Depwade
Records begin
Parish registers: 1551
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Redenhall
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

History

DISS (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Depwade, hundred of Diss, E. division of Norfolk, 22 miles (S. S. W.) from Norwich, and 92 (N. E.) from London. [1]

Diss St Mary is the earliest church for the town and subsequently with the expansion in the fifteenth century a chapel was built.

St Mary survived as the Ancient parish church; the chapel survived only until the Reformation. Diss had two churches Diss St Mary, Norfolk survives as the parish church whilst the later chapel of St Nicholas appears to have been lost.

The church was founded in 1290 and John Skelton one of the rectors was also the poet laureate.

Diss has a large concentration of surviving Tudor (1485-1603) buildings and St Nicholas Street in common with much of the ancient town could contain the frame of the 15th century chapel probably a wooden structure.

The Manning family provided many rectors of Diss and the Mannings formed a continuous line of Rectors from 1778 to 1916.

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438852.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Church Records

Diss, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Diss, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1572-1754

FREG 1551-1914
1551-1812, 1848-1908
1551-1914
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1551-1915 Undefined 1551-1792, 1823-1908 Undefined 1551-1911

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 100

The earliest registers from 1551 were bound in August 1816 by William Manning Rector and are marked No 1 and contain Baptisms and marriages 1551-1652 Burials 1555-1651  A second bound volume marked No 2 contains Baptisms and marriages 1551-1598 Burials 1555-1598.

Known Issues

Images of the parish register are available on FamilySearch Historical Records, however the current arrangement of images is in error and needs future engineering.

There is a non functional FamilySearch way point suggesting records 1653-1667 which should display  Baptisms, marriages, burials 1653-1667 

The 1667-1691 images are for Baptisms, marriages, burials 1667-1691

The 1691-1729 images are for Baptisms, marriages, burials 1691-1729 

The 1694-1696 images are fo a draft register for 1694-1696

There are then omitted images which do not load. The omitted images are for Baptisms and burials 1729-1778 Marriages 1729-1754  Baptisms and burials 1779-1812  Baptisms and burials 1783-1787   

Elsewhere under FamilySearch way point marked 1779-1812 and 1783-1787 two of these items appear for baptisms and burials but the marriages 1729-1754 do not appear to have been loaded.

There is a further series of unloaded marriages and banns for the years Marriages and banns 1792-1805  Marriages 1805-1812 Banns 1805-1823.

Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Depwade

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes C through F

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851 

Websites

References

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 58-60. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,980 times.