District of Columbia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from District of Columbia)

Online Records

United States  Gotoarrow.png  District of Columbia

Guide to District of Columbia ancestry, family history, and genealogy, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records

News and Events

If you are interested in being the moderator for District of Columbia, Please contact the Support Team.

Records from this area are currently being indexed by volunteers. Come join the effort and help us index the US, District of Columbia - Marriages, 1811-1950
Find us on

Ask a question
Learn what's new
Build the community

DC ORP.png
District of Columbia flag.png
   How to Find Information about District of Columbia Ancestors

1. Birth Information
2. Marriage Information
3. Death Information

Featured Content

United States Capitol building at dusk, Washington, D.C.
The first land grants to English settlers, in what is now the District of Columbia (then Charles County, Maryland), were made in 1663. Scottish immigrants founded Georgetown in 1751. Only a few people lived in the area when the federal government offices were moved there from Philadelphia in 1800. The city grew slowly until the 1860s, when the population more than doubled during and after the Civil War.

NEW!  Join the District of Columbia Genealogy Research Community on Facebook or Skype!

Major Repositories

Library of Congress · Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) · National Archives and Records Administration · New York Public Library

Migration Routes

Chesapeake and Ohio Canal · Cumberland Road · Fall Line Road (or Southern Road) · King's Highway · National Road · Potomac River · Atlantic Coast Ports

Did You Know?

MarylandVirginiaDistrict of ColumbiaWashington, D.C. locator map.svg.png

The Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) collection contains some District of Columbia Bible records. This collection is partially indexed by E. Kay Kirkham, An Index to Some of the Bibles and Family Records of the United States, vol. 2 (Logan, Utah: Everton Publishers, 1984; FHL book 973 D22kk v.2; fiche 6089184).

Wiki articles describing these collections are found:


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2015, at 03:39.
  • This page has been accessed 37,253 times.