District of Columbia Archives and LibrariesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
The following archives, libraries, and societies have collections or services helpful for genealogical research for the District of Columbia.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Pennsylvania Avenue at 8th Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20408
The archives has microfilms of all available federal census records, many naturalization records, passenger arrival lists, military records, and other historical resources. Learn more.
Maryland State Archives
350 Rowe Boulevard
Annapolis, MD 21401
Toll free: 1-800-235-4045
District of Columbia Public Library
Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library
901 "G" Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001-4599
The library's Special Collections include Washingtoniana, The Peabody Room (Georgetown historical resources), and the Black Studies Center.
Historical Society of the District of Columbia Circuit
333 Constitution Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20001-2866
Gallaudet University Library Deaf Collections and Archives
800 Florida Ave. N.E.
Washington, DC 20002
Library collections include records, manuscripts, photographs, biographies, and other genealogical resources.
Family History Library
35 North West Temple Street
Salt Lake City, Utah 84150
The Family History Library of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints houses a collection of genealogical records that include names of more than three billion deceased people. It’s the largest collection of its kind in the world. Collections include digitized historical records, microfilms and microfiche, books, maps, and much more. Explore at FamilySearch.org.
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy. You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site. These local centers are staffed by volunteers and have varying hours and resources so call to verify their hours in advance.
- Washington DC Family History Center
10000 Stoneybrook Drive
- Benton, Mildred, ed. Library and Reference Facilities in the Area of the District of Columbia. 12th edition. American Society for Information Science, 1986. FHL book 975.3 J5j At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Eales, Anne Bruner and Robert M. Kvasnicka. Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives of the United States. Washington, District of Columbia : National Archives and Records Administration, 2000. FHL book 973 J53e At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Neagles, James C. and Mark C. Neagles. The Library of Congress: A Guide to Genealogical and Historical Research. Salt Lake City, Utah : Ancestry Pub., 1990. FHL book 973 D23ne At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Provine, Dorothy S. Preliminary Inventory of the Records of the Government of the District of Columbia. Record Group 351. Washington, DC: National Archives and Records Service, 1976. book 975.3 A1 No. 8 At various libraries (WorldCat)
District of Columbia Online Records
You can find computerized research tips and information about ancestors from the District of Columbia in a variety of sources at local, state, national, and international levels. The list of sources is growing rapidly. Much of the information is available at no cost. Addresses on the Internet change frequently. The following sites are important gateways linking you to many more sites:
DCGenWeb - a cooperative effort by many volunteers to list genealogical databases, libraries, bulletin boards, and other resources available on the Internet for each county, state, and country
CyndisList - a major portal linking to a variety of family history sites
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 05:10.
- This page has been accessed 6,222 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News