Dixie County, FloridaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Florida
Dixie County
Guide to Dixie County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Dixie County, Florida | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Florida | |||||||||
![]() Location of Florida in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | April 25, 1921 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Cross City | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Contents |
County Courthouse
Dixie County Courthouse
PO Box 1206;
Cross City, FL 32628
Phone: 352.498.1200
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1973,
divorce, probate, court and land records[1]
History
Parent County
1921--Dixie County was created 25 April 1921 from Lafayette County.
County seat: Cross City [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
African American
- Florida African American Griots Project - USGenWeb
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
Cemeteries
- Florida Tombstone Transcription Project - USGenWeb
- Interment.net - Florida cemetery records by County
- Veterans Administration National Cemeteries - Florida National Cemeteries
- Cross City Cemetery BillionGraves
Census
For tips on accessing Dixie County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1885 Florida State Population Census - Includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture, manufacture and mortality.
- Federal Census Information from National Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service - USGenWeb Archives Project
Church
Court
Land
Florida Territorial Land Records
Local Histories
Maps
- 1870 Gray's Atlas Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1882 Rand McNally Panhandle Portion of State - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Exploring Florida, FCIT Maps, University of South Florida
Military
- Florida State Military Files - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Pension Transcriptions - Florida state pension records from various wars - USGenWeb Pension Project
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War
Newspapers
Obituaries
- Florida Obituaries - Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties - USGenWeb Obituaries Project
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Marriage
Death
- Florida State Archives
- Dixie County, Florida Obituary and Death Notices Collection Free from GenealogyBuff.com. From various funeral homes in the Cross City, Horseshoe Beach, Old Town, Suwannee and surrounding area.
Societies and Libraries
- Florida State Historical Societies - Listing by County
- Florida Family History Centers
- Florida Historical Society
- Florida State Genealogical Society
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- Dixie County FLGenWeb
- State of Florida
- USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Dixie County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Dixie County, FLGenWeb Project, Inc.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dixie County, Colorado. Page 134 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/54/Igiflorida.pdf.
| This Florida-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 5 April 2013, at 19:47.
- This page has been accessed 1,131 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

