Dobcross, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Dobcross

Guide to Dobcross, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dobcross, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Rochdale PLU
Registration District Saddleworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1787
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DOBCROSS, an ecclesiastical district, in the chapelry of Saddleworth, parish of Rochdale, Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 11 miles (N. E.) from Manchester. [1]

Dobcross Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1797 from Rochdale Ancient Parish.It is currently in Saddleworth Deanery, part of the Archdeanery of Rochdale, in the Anglican Diocese of Manchester.

Historically a part of the West Riding of Yorkshire, Dobcross was anciently a chapelry in the Quickmere division of Saddleworth. For centuries, Dobcross was a hamlet, sustained by domestic flannel and woollen cloth production. Many of the original 17th and 18th century barns and weavers' cottages survive today as listed buildings.

Dobcross is a village in Saddleworth—a civil parish of the Metropolitan Borough of Oldham, in Greater Manchester, England. It is located in a valley in the South Pennines, along the course of the River Tame and the Huddersfield Narrow Canal, west-southwest of Huddersfield.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Dobcross exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
FS PRs= England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free
 DOBCROSS CHAPELRY (1707) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1880-1894 1880-1894 1845-1910 1845-1910 1813-1977 1813-1977
FS PRs 1813-1893 1845-1910 1913-1998
IGI 1776-1867

1855-1910
1707-1842

LBMD
1845-1974

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rochdale to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the ROCHDALE PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Parish registers for Holy Trinity, Dobcross Microfilm of original records in possession of the Manchester Public Libraries, now the Manchester Archives Central Library (2004) in Manchester, England, the Central Library in Oldham, England, and also the Rochdale Central Library in Rochdale, England.

Dobcross is a chapelry in the parish of Rochdale, Lancashire. The chapelry is known as Holy Trinity Church.

Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: L 271.

Baptisms 1788-1837; burials 1788-1837. FHL BRITISH Film 1484391
Baptisms, 1788-1837(another filming). Burials, 1788-1837(another filming). Vault BRITISH Film 2113161
Baptisms, burials, 1787-1790 (another filming). Baptisms, 1813-1893. FHL BRITISH Film 2356339 Items 9 - 10
Marriages, 1845-1910. Burials, 1813-1999. FHL BRITISH Film 2356340 Items 1 - 2
Baptisms and burials, 1787-1790 (includes those for Lydgate Chapel, 1787-1801). Baptisms, 1813-1920. Burials, 1813-1930. Marriages, 1845-1910. (another filming) FHL BRITISH Film 1656358 Items 3 - 7

Known issue The initial loading of images for the parish registers results in "image unavailable " message for the parish. This is a known issue awaiting future engineering. The collection images were loaded in November 2010 and the indexing of parish registers has been undertaken  by FamilySearch Indexing. When the index is published it is intended to attach images to the index.

There was an error in the intiial loading for the parish.


Bishop's transcripts for Dobcross Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.

Bishop's transcripts of the chapelry of Dobcross (Holy Trinity) in Saddleworth-with-Quick township (Saddleworth), Rochdale parish, Yorkshire. The parish of Rochdale is mainly in the county of Lancashire.

Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/304

Baptisms and burials, 1787-1842. FHL BRITISH Film 1545804 Item 1

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464247.


Poor Law Unions

Rochdale Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 60-63. Date accessed: 14 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 3,174 times.