Docking, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Docking, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Docking, Norfolk
St Mary, Docking, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Smithdon
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Heacham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DOCKING (St. Mary), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, 11 miles (N. N. W.) from Rougha. There are places of worship for Wesleyans andPrimitive Methodists. [1]

Docking St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich. Other places in the parish include: Summerfield and Southmere.

Docking was known as "Dry Docking" as far back as the time of James I, due to the lack of drinking water there. Its largest manors were Southmere and Docking.
The chancel was built shortly before the Black Death of 1349, and the 80 foot tower in about 1415. The oldest of its five bells dates to 1622, made by John Draper. The clock was added in 1902 for the coronation of Edward VII. The most famous member of the Church was Henry Walpole, baptised in the ancient font at Docking Church in 1558. He witnessed the execution of the Jesuit priest Edmund Campion in 1581 and went into exile in France, becoming a Jesuit himself. He returned to England and was captured, and tortured in the Tower of London for 16 years before being hung, drawn, and quartered in 1595. He was canonized in 1970.

RAF Docking was a RAF Station of the Second World War a few miles from Bircham Newton in Norfolk.

It was a satellite airfield for the RAF Coastal Command station at RAF Bircham Newton and was mostly used for overflow from there.

Docking is a village and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk and contains the highest point in North West Norfolk. For the purposes of local government, it falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Docking, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[9]
Docking, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1558-1837

FREG 1558-1895
1558-1900
1558-1900
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1813-1895 Undefined 1813-1910 Undefined 1813-1864
JOIN
1558-1837

PALL
1790-1837

TIN 1813-1880


Docking Union Workhouse registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Docking Union Workhouse Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1837-1880


TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 483

Parish registers for Docking Microfilm copy of original in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library in Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms, 1813-1866. FHL BRITISH Film 1951630 Items 16 - 18
Baptisms, 1866-1895. Marriages, 1813-1910. Burials, 1813-1864 (title board gives wrong dates, i.e., 1864-1891). FHL BRITISH Film 1951631 Items 1 - 6

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812

Baptisms and burials 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526809 Item 15

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.



Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

1664 Hearth Taxes: Transcribed by Marg Keable and housed on Norfolk Transcription Archives

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 60-63. Date accessed: 19 September 2013. http://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50922#s13
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 4,509 times.