Doddington, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Doddington

Guide toDoddington, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Doddington, Cheshire
Doddington St John contributor Mike Grose.jpg
Doddington St John contributor Mike Grose
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich PLU
Registration District Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nantwich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

DODDINGTON, is a township and a chapelry in Wybunbury parish, Cheshire. The township lies near the North-western railway, it is adjacent to Salop and Staffordshire; 3¼ miles south of Basford railway station, and 5½ SE by S of Nantwich. The chapelry was constituted in 1840. Post town, Wybunbury, under Nantwich.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474589.

Indexes to some Censuses may be searched at FamilySearch. Click "Records Collections".

Church records

Doddington St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Doddington St John Chapelry (1838) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
FS BT'S NONE NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Nantwich (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)

Poor Law Unions

Nantwich Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 19 February 2013

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 September 2014, at 19:08.
  • This page has been accessed 2,680 times.