Doddington, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Doddington, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Doddington, Northumberland
Doddington NorthumberlandSt Mary and St Michael .jpg
Doddington NorthumberlandSt Mary and St Michael
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Glendale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Glendale PLU
Registration District Glendale
Records begin
Parish registers: 1688
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bamburgh
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DODDINGTON, a parish in the union and E. division of Glendale ward, N. division of Northumberland.[1]

Additional information:

Doddington St Mary and St Michael is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Northumberland, created in 1775 from chapelry in Chatton, Northumberland Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Earle, Ewart, Humbleton, Nesbit, Yeard-hill, and Yearle.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/79 1765-1881 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Doddington, St Mary and St Michael: Records of baptisms 1688-1956, marriages 1694-1991 and burials 1700-1973 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1688-1812 and marriages 1697-1801 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1701-1713, 1727-1812 and banns 1751-1812. Transcripts of baptisms, burials and marriages 1688-1812 for Doddington are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438892.

Poor Law Unions

Glendale Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 21:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,915 times.