Doddridge County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png West Virginia Gotoarrow.png Doddridge County

Guide to Doddridge County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link= Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records

Doddridge County, West Virginia
Map of West Virginia highlighting Doddridge County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Founded February 4, 1845
County Seat West Union
Doddridge County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Address Doddridge County Courthouse
118 East Court Street
West Union, WV 26456
Phone: 304-873-2631
Doddridge County Website


County Courthouse

County Clerk has bird and death records from 1853
Marriage probate land records from 1845[1]


Parent County

1845--Doddridge County was created 4 February 1845 from Harrison, Tyler, Ritchie and Lewis Counties.
County seat: West Union [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties





For tips on accessing Doddridge County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Join us in indexing the 1940 Census




Local Histories



West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865

Naturalization Records

West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991



Online Probate Records

West Virginia Will Books


Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. See also How to order West Virginia Vital Records or order electronically online.

. Includes marriages 1845-1970 - free.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Doddridge County, West Virginia. Page 743.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 October 2015, at 21:31.
  • This page has been accessed 17,906 times.