Dodge County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Georgia Gotoarrow.png Dodge County

Guide to Dodge County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Dodge County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Dodge County
Location in the state of Georgia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Georgia
Location of Georgia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 26, 1870
County Seat Eastman
Courthouse
Address Dodge County Courthouse
407 Anson Ave
PO box 818
Eastman, GA 31023-0818
Phone: 478.374.4361
Dodge County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Dodge County Courthouse
07 Anson Ave
PO box 818
Eastman, GA 31023-0818
Phone: 478.374.4361

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Beginning Dates for Dodge County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate






History

Parent County

1870--Dodge County was created 26 October 1870 from Montgomery, Pulaski and Telfair Counties.
County seat: Eastman[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported loss or damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Empire

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Dodge County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Cobb, Addie Davis. History of Dodge County. Atlanta, Ga.: Foote & Davies Co., 1932. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Military

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dodge County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1871-1893 - Dodge County Marriage Index 1871-1893. Batch M712661 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1893-1944 - Dodge County Marriage Index 1893-1944. Batch M712662 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
  • 1879-80 - Dodge County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dodge County, Georgia. Page 154 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 27. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:22.
  • This page has been accessed 8,864 times.