Dodge County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Dodge County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Dodge County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Dodge County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Juneau
Courthouse
Address Dodge County Courthouse
127 E Oak Street;
Juneau, WI 53039;
Phone. 920.386.3600

WI Dodge.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Dodge County Courthouse
127 E Oak Street;
Juneau, WI 53039;
Phone. 920.386.3600

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1877;
Clerk Court has divorce and court records; Register in Probate has probate
records from 1854 [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1836--Dodge County was created 7 December 1836 from Brown and Milwaukee Counties.County seat: Juneau [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Reeseville - History and Genealogy Archives: http://webpages.charter.net/reeseville

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free usearchable images to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1885 Wisconsin State Census— Free usearchable images to the 1885 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

Church History and Records

  • Church records, 1880-1930 First United Methodist Church in Hartford, Wisconsin. Text in English and German. Contains officials, members, statistics 1880-1899, baptisms, marriages, and deaths 1893-1930. Records also include congregations in Horicon, Clyman and Juneau in Dodge County.
Lutheran
  • Records of the Lutheran Church, Dodge County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Dodge County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Dodge County.

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies B, C, D, K and M
- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company K
World War 1

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For Dodge and Jefferson counties, order newspaper clippings from www.dodgejeffgen.com

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth

The library also has a hard copy index: Index to Wisconsin Delayed and Affidavit Birth Registrations prior to 1 October 1907; 977.5, V22i. Delayed births are arranged by county, then date of registration. Affidavit delayed births are arranged by county, then date of birth.

Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 756 Dodge County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 6,261 times.