Dodington, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Dodington, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dodington, Shropshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Bradford
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Whitchurch Incorp PLU
Registration District Wem
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Market Drayton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DODINGTON, a township and a chapelry in Whitchurch parish, Shropshire, within a half mile of Whitchuch. The church was a chapel of ease, dedicated to St Catherine's and was constructed in 1836.[1] [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. Registration Districts covering this area of Shropshire, included:


Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474589.

Indexes to some Censuses may be searched at FamilySearch. Click "Records Collections".

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales[1] (1870-72). Adapted. Accessed: 4 Feb 2013.
  2. Discover Shropshire website. Accessed 4 Feb 2013.


Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:36.
  • This page has been accessed 815 times.