DolphinholmeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Dolphinholme, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapelry History

DOLPHINHOLME, a chapelry in Cockerham parish parish, Lancashire; near Scorton railway station, 6 ½ miles S. of Lancaster. It has a post office under Lancaster. The church was built in 1840. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a national school.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306914.

Probate records<br>

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers<br>

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br>

Web sites 

References

  1. John M. Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales published 1870-72.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:34.
  • This page has been accessed 1,452 times.