Doncaster, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, A-I Gotoarrow.pngWest Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Doncaster Doncaster, Yorkshire family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Doncaster, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Doncaster Borough; Doncaster Soke; Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Doncaster PLU
Registration District Doncaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DONCASTER (St. George), a parish, and the head of a union, in the N. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships of Langthwaite with Tilts, Balby with Hexthorpe, and Long Sandall with Wheatley, 11,245 inhabitants, of whom 10,455 are in the borough of Doncaster, 33 miles (S. by W.) from York, and 162 (N. N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, and Unitarians, and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Doncaster St George is an Ancient Parish and became a Minster church in 2004 in the market town in the Metropolitan Borough of Doncaster. St George's Minster Doncaster Wikipedia

A history of the Doncaster Churches is available Doncaster and District Family History Society and describes record holdings for the churches of St George and St Mary Magdalene which was demolished in 1848. The burial registers contain a "p" to denote plague victims in 1582/1583.

The rebuilt church of St George has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

From this parish were formed:

Doncaster Christ Church, British listed building dating from 1827-1829

St James (the ‘railway church’), British listed building dating from 1858.

St Jude at Hexthorpe See Balby with Hexthorpe, Yorkshire and Hexthorpe St Jude, Doncaster, Yorkshire and St Mary at Wheatley. The town included congregations of Unitarians, Independents, Methodists, Quakers and other denominations in small numbers.

See also Doncaster Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Primary registration of births, marriages and deaths took place at the Doncaster registration district has been included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search. Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Doncaster exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[2]
DONCASTER PARISH (1557) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1735-1910

1651-1899

1815-1923

JOIN None

1557-1837

None

AC 1785-1837

1785-1837

1785-1837


TGEN 1557-1837
1557-1837
1557-1837


List of Chapelry's in this Parish


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Doncaster to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the DONCASTER PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464284.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Doncaster Archives

Holdings in the Doncaster Archives

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 63-69. Adapted Date accessed: 14 November 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:15.
  • This page has been accessed 2,779 times.