Donyatt, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Donyatt, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Abdick and Bulstone
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Chard PLU
Registration District Chard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1712
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Crewkerne
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DONYATT (St. Mary), a parish in Chard district, Somerset; on the river Isle, adjacent to the Chard canal, near the Chard and Taunton railway, 1½ mile WSW of Ilminster. It includes part of Crock-Street hamlet.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Donyatt, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
DONYATT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1623-1629
1623-1629, 1813-1837
1623-1629, 1813-1865
MARR
1623-1837

NBI

1623-1867

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474592.

Genealogy from Periodicals 

Mattravers, Philip.  The Matravers Family.

History and Family Tree of the Mat(t)ravers family of Joseph and Elizabeth Matravers of Donyatt, Taunton, Weston-Super-Mare and Chippenham.  Article covers 1780-1929, and is to be found in The Family History Journal of the South East Hampshire Genealogical Society, no. 5, February 1975, pages 100-102, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2f

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 18 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 July 2014, at 07:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,740 times.