Door County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Door County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Door County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Door County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 11, 1851
County Seat Sturgeon Bay
Courthouse
Address Door County Courthouse
421 Nebraska Street
Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2204
Phone: 920.746.2200
WI Door.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Door County Courthouse
421 Nebraska Street
Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235-2204
Phone: 920.746.2200

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, divorce, and land records from 1850;
Clerk Court has divorce records from 1900 and court records from 1860;
Register in Probate has probate records from 1863 [1]


Historical Facts

Parent County

1851--Door County was created 11 February 1851 fromBrown County. County seat: Sturgeon Bay [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

  • Washington Island including Detroit Harbor.
  • Liberty Grove (Town of), including villages of Gills Rock, Ellison Bay, and Sister Bay. Also old towns/areas include Rowleys Bay, Appleport, Hedgehog Harbor,  North Bay, and North Port.
  • Baileys Harbor, including Peninsula Center
  • Gibraltor (Town of), including villages of Ephraim, Juddville, and Fish Creek. Horseshoe (Eagle) and Chamber Islands.
  • Jacksonport, including West Jacksonport.
  • Egg Harbor, including the village of Egg Harbor and Carlsville.
  • Sevastopol, including villages of Valmy, Institute, and Whitefish Bay.
  • Sturgeon Bay
  • Gardner, including Little Sturgeon Bay
  • Forestville, including Village of Forestville, Carnot, and Maplewood.
  • Nasawaupee, including Idlewild.
  • Union, including Shoemaker Point and Namur.
  • Brussels, including Rosiere and Kohlberg.
  • Clay Banks, including Vignes and Salona.

Neighboring Counties

<object width="0" height="0" id="plugin0" type="application/x-dgnria" style="position:absolute;z-index:1000"><param name="tabId" value="ff-tab-9"></param><param name="counter" value="650"></param></object>
<object width="0" height="0" id="plugin0" type="application/x-dgnria" style="position:absolute;z-index:1000"><param name="tabId" value="ff-tab-9"></param><param name="counter" value="687"></param></object>

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Peninsula Genealogical Society Website - Door County Cemeteries indexed and many with photos linked to their stones.

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the [1] This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1885 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1885 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the [2] This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of Bay View Lutheran Church, Sturgeon Bay, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records 

Circuit Court case files, 1895-1987 available at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Norwegians - immigration to Door County, WI. Birth, immigration, marriage, death etc found in the digitized parish registers of Norway www.arkivverket.no/URN:kb_read

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Door County Land Information Portal map.co.door.wi.us/map/[[]] click on map and find past and current land information.


The State of Wisconsin Collection Plat Maps 1899, 1900, 1914, and 1923. digicoll.library.wisc.edu/cgi-bin/WI/WI-idx Use "volume" forward feature to go to later years.

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship 

Declarations of Intention & Naturalizations, 1861-1950 available at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Citizenship Record Request Form located at:  http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums 

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

  • Peninsula Genealogical Society - The PGS Website is striving to be a Door County Research Guide, including Cemetery indexes linked with photos of stones as an ongoing project, Pre-1907 Marriage and Death indexes, Obituary index, Bios, and family histories, and where to go to find other sources.
  • Ephraim Historic Foundation - http://www.ephraim.org/ First settled about 1850. It is dedicated to preserving historic documents, artifacts, and buildings.
  • Sister Bay Historical Society - sisterbayhistory.org/history.asp The Sister Bay Historical Society is an affiliate of the Wisconsin Historical Society and a member of the Door County Historical Resource Association.
  • Door County Historical Society - www.doorcountyhistoricalsociety.org/ They include Eagle Bluff Lighthouse Museum, Door County Historic Museum, and Historic Village at the Crossroads.

Taxation

Vital Records

  Pre-1907 Birth, Death, and Marriage registrations available at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Birth, Death, and Marriage Request Forms available at:  http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Voting Registers

Web Sites

Peninsula Genealogical Society

Door County Library / Genealogy 

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 756 Door County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 9,903 times.