Douglas County, Kansas GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Douglas County, Kansas)

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Douglas County

Guide to Douglas County, Kansas Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Douglas County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Douglas County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 30, 1855
County Seat Lawrence
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Douglas County Courthouse
111 E. 11th Street
Lawrence, Kansas 66044
Phone: 785.841.7700

Contents

County Information

Douglas County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1885 1863 1885 1860 1856 1856

County Courthouse

Douglas County Courthouse
111 E 11th;
Lawrence, KS 66044
Phone: 785.841.7700

Clerk Discharge Court has probate and court records from 1863
naturalization records 1867-1953. Registrar of Deeds has land records.
Spencer Research Lib has marriage 1863-1912. [2]

History

Parent County

1855--Douglas County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county. County seat: Lawrence [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ksdouglas.jpg

Resources

Cemeteries

BillionGraves:

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Douglas County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps

Atlas of Douglas County, Kansas, 1873 published by F.W. Beers and Co., New York. Available on Kansas Memory.

Plat Book and Complete Survey of Douglas County, Kansas, 1909 including township and town maps with land owners. Published by Albert W. Armstrong. Available on Kansas Memory.

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Douglas County, Kansas Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Douglas County.

  • August 21, 1863 = Lawrence, also known Lawrence Massacre[6]
Map showing Civil War battles in Kansas.
  • Men from Douglas county enlisted in the  1st Infantry Regiment, Company A and  20th Regiment, Company H.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Douglas County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Douglas and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth Records
Death Records
Marriage Records

Societies and Libraries

Spencer Research Library—Kansas Collections (includes Douglas County Records)
University of Kansas
1450 Poplar Lane
Lawrence, KS 66045-7616
Phone: (785) 864-4334

Watkins Community Museum of History
1047 Massachusetts Street
Lawrence, KS 66044
Phone: (785) 841-4109
Email: info@watkinsmuseum.org

Kansas Historical Society
6425 SW Sixth Avenue
Topeka, KS 66615-1099
Phone: (785) 272-8681
Fax: (785) 272-8682

Douglas County Genealogical Society

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Douglas County, Kansas page 250 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  5. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August, 2012)

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 July 2015, at 17:11.
  • This page has been accessed 15,488 times.