Douglas County, Nebraska GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Douglas County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|Douglas County, Nebraska|
Location in the state of Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
|Founded||November 23, 1854|
|Address|| 1701 Farnam Street, #300|
Omaha, Nebraska 68102
Douglas County, Nebraska Record Dates
Douglas County Courthouse
1701 Farnam Street
Omaha NE 68183-1001
County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
County Clerk has military discharge records. 
1854--Douglas County was created 23 November 1854 as an original county. County seat: Omaha 
History of Douglas County : Andreas' History of the State of Nebraska, Douglas County, Produced by Liz Lee
Douglas County cities and villags
In December 1863 the First Transcontinental Railroad started from Omaha, Nebraska.
- Union Pacific Railroad
- American Memory from Library of Congress has maps of the Union Pacific Railroad
- Wikipedia article on the Union Pacific Railroad
- Railroad Museum in Omaha, Nebraska
Cemeteries and Obituaries
- Douglas County Cemeteries from RootsWeb - Links to some cemeteries and transcriptions
- Omaha obituary index. Lists over 150,000 obituaries from Omaha and surrounding areas.
BillionGraves: Each page has Google map showing cemetery, and searchable database for each one, and photos of headstones.
- Bohemian Cemetery, Omaha
- Calvary Cemetery, Omahas
- Elkhorn Cemetery, Elkhorn
- Evergreen Memorial Park Cemetery, Omaha
- Forest Lawn Cemetery, Omaha
- Golden Hill Cemetery, Omaha
- Graceland Park Cemetery, Omaha
- Mormon Cemetery, Omaha See note below.
- Mount Auburn Cemetery, Omaha
- Mount Calvary Cemetery, Elkhorn
- Mount Sinai Cemetery, Omaha
- Pleasant Hill Cemetery, Omaha
- Prospect Hill Cemetery, Omaha
- Saint Mary's Cemetery, Omaha
- Saint Mary Magdalene Cemetery, Omaha
- Springwell Cemetery, Omaha
- West Lawn Cemetery, Omaha
Note about 'Mormon Cemetery'. Burials here are largely from the late 1840s, when the Mormons began their trek west, this general area very close to this spot is where they stopped for the winter of 1846 and subsequent groups heading for what is now known as Utah staged from this general area. This area is also known as 'Winter Quarters' due to the fact that the first group stopped for the winter around this location. There may be a very few later than that here as well.
For tips on accessing Douglas County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.
Google maps shows many Douglas County churches
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Omaha Branch Record of Members 1929-1942 at Family History Library
- Omaha South Branch Record of Members 1941 at Family History Library
- Winter QuartersBishops Accounts 1840-1859 for Bishop Edward Hunter. Also includes Nauvoo, Illinois 5th Ward and Salt Lake City, Utah 13th Ward,
- Records of St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Millard, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
- Douglas County Court
1819 Farnam St.
Omaha, NE 68183
Telephone: (402) 444-7000
- Douglas County Court Directory Lists courts in Douglas County their addresses, their online resources , and links to their individual websites.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
- DoGIS.com Geographical Information Systems for Douglas County. Locate addresses and land parcels in the county
Local histories are available for Douglas County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.
Early migration routes to and from Douglas County, Nebraska Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
- Grand Army of the Republic in Douglas County, Nebraska -- Provisional Organization - July 10, 1867 -- Permanent Organization June 12, 1877
- History of Nebraska GAR
- GAR information is available through the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War
- Original Post
- Post # 1 OMAHA Chartered Dec. 13, 1866 by National Headquarters 15 members
- Later Posts
- Post #2 FT. OMAHA Phil Kearny Jan. 1, 1876-1896 Post moved to South Omaha Membership: Total-136+
- Post #2-A South Omaha Phil Kearny Oct 5, 1896-1924 Charter surrendered April 30, 1924 Membership: Total-304+
- Post # 7 Omaha George Custer June 5, 1876-1946 Changed Jan 9, 1922 when last 3 Omaha posts were combined to Old Guard (A reference to their being the last of their kind) Membership: Total-477+
- Post #110 Omaha Aug. 18, 1882-1921 Combined with Post #7 Omaha, changed on July (23), 1888 to U.S.Grant, Membership: Charter-18 Total-344+
- Post # 262 Omaha April 6, 1888-1921, Combined with Post 7 Gate City , (Post originally requested name of Thomas J. Potter) changed January 30, 1889 to Phil Sheridan, changed March 21, 1890 to George Crook, Membership: Total-400+
- Post # 282 South Omaha R.R. Livingston May 7, 1889-1896 Combined with Post 2-A 1827-1888 Membership: Charter-N/A Total-66+
- Post # 300 Florence James Isom March 29, 1890-1890 Charter surrendered 1/29/189,1Membership: Total-12
- Post # 337 South Omaha Samuel Dennis April 16, 1895-1896 Combined with Post 2-A Membership: Charter-27 Total-34
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Douglas County, Nebraska Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Library of Congress Chronicling America newspaper project contains digital copies of newspapers for Douglas County, Nebraska. Some are foreign language newspaprs. Years of publication vary.
- Omaha Obits - site with obituary listings that includes the Omaha Bee, the Omaha Star (African-American paper) and the Jewish Press; provided by the Greater Omaha Genealogical Society.
In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Douglas - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Douglas County births from early Omaha newspapers at the W. Dale Clark Library in Omaha. These birth announcements were extracted by those looking for obituaries in the same papers.
- Marriage License Indexes for Douglas County, Nebraska: Licenses since 1988 plus some earlier
- Marriage License Indexes for Omaha, Nebraska
- Obituaries from Omaha and surroundong areas, Nearly 19,000 listings from Omaha newspapers.
Societies and Libraries
- Greater Omaha Genealogical Society
- Historical Society of Douglas County
- Webpage: http://www.omahahistory.org/
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Linkpendium links for Douglas County, Nebraska
- Linkforum for Douglas County, Nebraska
- Cyndi's List For Nebraska then scroll to Douglas County. Links to websites for multiple subjects
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Douglas County, Nebraska page 430, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- This page was last modified on 13 October 2015, at 18:45.
- This page has been accessed 26,662 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News