Dover Castle, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Dover Castle, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Dover Castle, Kent
Dover St Mary-in-Castro Kent.jpg
Dover St Mary-in-Castro Kent
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dover Town and Port
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover PLU
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Dover Castle was an extra parochial place until the restoration of the garrison church in the mid nineteenth century. The church had been used after 1690 as storage within the castle. For edward Hasted's history of Dover which referes to the castle see 'The town and port of Dover', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 475-548 at British History Online

The former Saxon church of St Mary-in-Castro was restored in 1860-1862 and again in the 1880's. The original church was heavily restored and stands next to the ancient Roman pharos which became the bell tower to the church. The church serves as parish church and army garrison church.  The parish had been established at this time when Dover St James the Apostle, Kent had ceased to be used and the Second World war destruction of that church and the St James Street district left the Garrison church serving the parish as well.See Kent Churches website

A map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Family History Library film numbers
Dover Castle
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Census records

Census returns for Dover, 1841-1891  microfilm collection in the Family History Library


FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Dover Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 17:21.
  • This page has been accessed 2,182 times.