Dover St Mary the Virgin, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Dover St Mary the Virgin, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Dover St Mary the Virgin, Kent
Dover St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg
Dover St Mary the Virgin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dover Town and Port
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover PLU
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1577
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dover
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DOVOR, or Dover, one of the cinque-ports, a borough and market-town, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 15 miles (S. E. by S.) from Canterbury, and 71 (E. S. E.) from London. The town formerly consisted of the parishes of St. James the Apostle, St. Mary the Virgin, St. John, St. Martin the Greater, St. Martin the Less, St. Nicholas, and St. Peter; of these, the five last no longer exist, and the churches have been demolished.There are places of worship for General and Particular Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics. [1]


Dover is a town and civil parish and the administrative centre of Dover district in the County of Kent, see Dover Wikipedia for history and description of the town and port.

Dover St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish and one of the two surviving churches with Dover St James the Apostle, Kent of the original six town parochial churches described by Edward Hasted (see link below)

A map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

The Parish church of St Mary the Virgin, Biggin Street, Dover has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also Edward Hasted 'The town and port of Dover', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 475-548 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Dover St Mary the Virgin, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5][6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
Dover St Mary the Virgin, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1713

FMP 1557-1912 1557-1912 1539-1910; 1754-1861 (Banns) 1539-1910; 1754-1861 (Banns) 1559-1954 1559-1954
IGI 1557-1849 1557-1843

Dover St John Mariner parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Dover St John Mariner Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1849-1906 1849-1906

Census records

Census returns for Dover, 1841-1891 generic census microfilm collection in the Family History Library for the town


FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Edward Hasted describes the formation of the town workhouse in 1726 ['The town and port of Dover', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 475-548. at British History Online

Dover Poor Law Union, Kent

The Family History Library includes filming of

Admissions and discharges, births, deaths and religious creed registers of the Workhouse at Buckland, 1835-1914
Dover Poor Law Union whose records are held at the Centre for Kentish Studies, Maidstone, England.The workhouse is in the parish of Buckland in the district of Dover. Kent Archives Office reference at date of microfilming (1991) GI Do/WIA 1-19; WIB 1-2; WIC 1; WID 1.

In adddition The Family History Library has microfilm of Parish chest records, 1611-1858 for Dover which were microfilmed at Canterbury Cathedral Archives in 1992 under reference U3/30/4/1, U3/30/8/1-5, U3/30/13/1-3, U3/30/16/1-2, U3/30/18/1-40, U3/30/19/1, U3/30/25/1

See England, Kent, Workhouse Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 78-84. Date accessed: 25 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 17:24.
  • This page has been accessed 6,005 times.