Downham, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Downham, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Downham, Lancashire
Downham St Leonard Lancashire contributor Mr T.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Clitheroe PLU
Registration District Clitheroe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

DOWNHAM (St Leonard) a chapelry since 1605, in the parish of Whalley, union of Clitheroe, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of the county of Lancaster,3 miles (E. N. E.) from Clitheroe. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Downham is a village and civil parish in Lancashire, England. It is in the Ribble Valley district The village is on the north side of Pendle Hill off the A59 road about 3 miles (4.8 km) from Clitheroe.

The village is part of the Assheton Estate owned by the Lord and Lady Clitheroe, and the owners do not allow overhead electricity lines, aerials or satellite dishes, making the village a popular location for filming period dramas. Downham Village - features as "Ormston" in the BBC TV series "Born and Bred", and was also used in the 1961 film of "Whistle Down The Wind".

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Downham chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years: 1{| width="100%" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="1" border="1" |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | FS = FamilySearch.org |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | FMP = findmypast |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | AC = Ancestry.co.uk |- | bgcolor="#ffffff" align="left" colspan="6" | FREG = FreeReg |}


DOWNHAM ST LEONARD Chapelry  (1605) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1606-1886 1606-1861 1679-1903
LOPC 1653-1722, 1801-1888 1606-1837 1801-1878
LBMD None 1837-2006 None
FMP None 1655-1754 None
AC 1605-1837
1605-1837
1605-1837
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes (ancient parish containing DOWNHAM Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Downham and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY PARISH page.


Parish registers for Downham, 1653-1900 Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Contains baptisms 1653-1887; marriages 1653-1837; banns 1884-1900; burials 1653-1812; register of services 1893-1900. Downham is a chapelry in the parish of Whalley.
Lancashire Record Office no. : PR 3188/1/1-9

Bishop's transcripts for Downham, 1606-1886 Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Downham is a chapelry in the parish of Whalley
Lancashire Record Office: DRB 2/244-245; DRL 2/245

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306896.


Poor Law Unions

Clitheroe Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 84-88. Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 4,855 times.