Downton, Herefordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Downton, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Ludlow PLU|
|Parish registers: 1728|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
DOWNTON (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Ludlow, hundred of Wigmore, and county of Hereford, 3 miles (E. by S.) from Leintwardine.
Downton is an Ancient Parish in Herefordshire.
Downton St Giles was built in 1861-1862 by S Pountney Smith and is an Estate church to the Downton estate, Downton Castle is nearby Downton Castle Wikipedia
The church has been designated as a grade II listed building by English Heritage British Listed Building
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Downton like this:
DOWNTON, a parish in the district of Ludlow and county of Hereford; on the river Teme, near the boundary with Salop, 5 miles SW of Bromfield r. station, and 5½ W by S of Ludlow.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collectionDownton
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288821.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 84-88. Accessed and adapted 6 August, 2013.
- ↑ John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:52.
- This page has been accessed 1,301 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More