Drax, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Drax

Guide to Drax, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Drax, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barkstone-Ash
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Selby PLU
Registration District Selby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1597
Bishop's Transcripts: 1632
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DRAX (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Selby, Lower division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York; including the townships of Camblesforth and Newland; and containing 1161 inhabitants, of whom 364 are in the township of Drax, 7 miles (S. E.) from Selby, and 171 in that of Long Drax. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Drax exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
DRAX PARISH (1720) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1720-1874

1720-1880

None

JOIN None

1720-1837

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Drax to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the DRAX PARISHpage.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Church of England church is dedicated to St Peter and St Paul

  • Christenings 1599-1947
  • Marriages 1597-1977
  • Burials 1597-1980

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1599.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464248.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

GENUKI - http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/YKS/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 84-88. Date accessed: 11 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 3,223 times.