Drew County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Drew County

Guide to Drew County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Drew County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Drew County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 26, 1846
County Seat Monticello
Courthouse
Address Drew County Courthouse
210 S Main Street
Monticello, AR 71655
Phone: 870.460.6260

Contents

County Courthouse

Drew County Courthouse
210 S Main Street
Monticello, AR 71655
Phone: 870.460.6260

County Clerk has marriage and probate records. Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, military and court records; County Assessor has land records.[1]

Beginning years for Drew County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1847 1914* 1847 1847 1847
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1846--Drew County was created 26 November 1846 from Arkansas and Bradley Counties.County seat: Monticello[3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog'

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ashley  • Bradley  • Chicot  • Cleveland  • Desha  • Lincoln

Drew CountyDesha CountyChicot CountyAshley CountyUnion CountyBradley CountyCleveland CountyLincoln CountyArkansas CountyJefferson CountyGrant CountyDallas CountyCalhoun CountyBolivar CountyWashington CountySharkey CountySunflower CountyARDrew.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Drew County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Drew County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records vary greatly, depending upon the the record keepers and beliefs of the church. They may give: a member's dates of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information, maiden name; and death date. For more information, see Arkansas Church Records.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can 1) place an ancestor in a specific location, 2) provide economic information, 3) reveal family relationships, and more.

After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse in the form of deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, and others.

See Arkansas Land and Property for more about online collections and early Arkansas land grants and patents from the government to private ownership.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

See also Towns and Townships to find records listed at the town level in the FamilySearch Catalog.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • Native Americans lived in southeastern Arkansas, including Drew County, for many years before European exploration.
  • 1600s (late) - French missionaries and explorers encountered the Quapaw in southeastern Arkansas.
  • 1824 - In a treaty, the Quapaw agreed to sell their land and move.
  • 1837 - As early as 1837, American settlers had gathered in a village called Rough and Ready, located within a mile of the present-day county seat, Monticello.
  • 1846 November 26 - Drew County was formed.
  • 1910-2010 - The population of Drew County hit its peak in 1910 with 22,000. It had dropped to 15,000 by 1970 and had a slow recovery to 18,500 in 2010.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Drew County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Drew County, Arkansas:


- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 3rd Consolidated Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 6th Battalion Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Companies A, B and L
- 8th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, B and E

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Drew County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1846-1926 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Estates 1905-1906; Inventories 1870-1893; Letters of administration 1847-1858; Minutes 1852-1864; Probate records 1865-1905; Wills 1846-1926; Wills, intestate estates 1847-1858.

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Drew County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Drew County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Drew County, Arkansas
genealogy.com Drew County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Drew County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Calvin L. Collier, They'll do to Tie To: the story of the Third Regiment, Arkansas Infantry, C.S.A.,(Little Rock, Arkansas: Civil War Round Table Associates, 1959) p. 10. FHL book 976.7 M2c
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 December 2014, at 18:51.
  • This page has been accessed 12,388 times.