Drighlington, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Drighlington

Guide to Drighlington, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Drighlington, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morley
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union North Bierley PLU
Registration District Bradford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1816
Bishop's Transcripts: 1816
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DRIGHLINGTON, a township, in the parish of Birstal, union of Bradford, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, 5 miles (S. E.) from Bradford, and 5½ (W. S. W.) from Leeds; containing 2031 inhabitants. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, and Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Drighlington exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
DRIGHLINGTON CHAPELRY (1816) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1816-1910 1816-1913 1816-1913
FS 1816-1908

None

1874-1927

For a full list of all those chapels comprising the whole ancient parish of Birstall to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BIRSTALL PARISH page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 1009489.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 91-96 Date accessed: 11 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,900 times.