Droxford, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Droxford

Guide to Droxford, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Droxford, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bishop's Waltham
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Droxford PLU
Registration District Droxford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1633
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Droxford
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Droxford with Swanmore, Shidfield, Hill, and Midlington; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DROXFORD (St. Mary and All Saints), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Bishop's Waltham, Droxford and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 3¼ miles (E. by N.) from Bishop's-Waltham with the tythings of Hill, Shidfield, and Swanmore.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Droxford, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
DROXFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1633-1876
1633-1790, 1813-1876

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288793.

Genealogy from Periodicals

Crook, Richard. The Crook Lineage 1639-1888. A detailed family tree of John Crook married 15 Jan 1639 at Droxford, to Jane Staires, with baptisms and burials in Boarhunt, Southwick and Hambledon. Tree dates from 1639-1974. Article to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 31, part 1, page 66. FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 91-96.Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 5 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 September 2014, at 15:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,414 times.