Ducklington, OxfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Ducklington, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ducklington, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bampton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Witney PLU
Registration District Witney
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Witney
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

DUCKLINGTON (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Witney, hundred of Bampton, county of Oxford, 1½ mile (S.) from Witney. There is a chapel of ease in Cokethorpe Park. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ducklington, Oxfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

GOOG = Google Books - free[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
DUCKLINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
GOOG 1550-1880
1581-1880
1580-1880
OFHS 1550-1917
1581-1900
1580-1909
PALL
1790-1880

Bishop's transcripts begin in 1800.[5]


Census records

a.  Brittish Census|474571}}

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 91-96. Date accessed: 18 September 2012.
  2. W.D. Macray, An Index to the Registers of Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials in the Parish of Ducklington (Oxford: Parker and Co., 1881). Digitised by Google Books - free.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. W.D. Macray, An Index to the Registers of Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials in the Parish of Ducklington (Oxford: Parker and Co., 1881). Digitised by Google Books - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,009 times.